Loading
PUBLIC NOTICE

Effective October 1, 2013, the viewing room located on the 2nd floor of the Monterey Courthouse will temporarily close to the public each Thursday and Friday, until further notice.

Click here to view Notice.





Electronic Access to Court Records
The Court provides electronic access to court records, when feasible. Access to electronic records save the public time and effort and promotes efficiency with court operations. The Court complies with California Rule of Court (CRC) 2.500 - Public Access to Electronic Court Records by providing:
  • Remote electronic access to indexes and court calendars, CRC 2.507(b);
  • Courthouse electronic access to court records
Remote Electronic Access

Remote electronic access is available for civil limited, civil unlimited, family law and probate court indexes and court calendars pursuant to CRC 2.507(b). Refer to General Information, Case Lookup.

Courthouse Electronic Access

Computers are available to the public in the Clerk’s Office to access indexes, court calendar information and court case record information pursuant to CRC 2.503(c). Additional indexes in non-electronic form are available in the Clerk’s Office. Members of the public may view and request copies of court records in person at the Clerk’s Office. Refer to Record Search Section for additional information.



Record Case Search
Requests for a case record search may be made by contacting the Clerk’s Office in person or by mail.

Record Search Fee

The Clerk’s Office will process requests for a record search made in person or by mail. The Civil Division does not conduct record searches by telephone. A record search fee of $15.00 is required for each record search without a case number. A record search fee of $15.00 is also required for any search requiring more than 10 minutes of the clerk’s time (with or without a case number). Refer to form Request for a Record Search and/or Copies.

You may avoid paying the record search fee by conducting your own record search on-line; please refer to the Case Look-Up section to obtain a case number or you may conduct case research at the Clerk’s Office free of charge.

Request for a Record Search

In - Person

The Clerk will conduct up to 3 record searches in person. If you have more than 3 searches, you may be required to give the Clerk up to 72 hours to process your request.
  1. Provide the following information to the Clerk’s Office;
    • Case number;
    • Case Name/Caption;
    • Any additional information available that will assist the clerk with identifying the case
  2. Pay the appropriate fees to the Clerk of the Court;
    • The clerk’s office accepts cash, checks, and money orders. All checks must be printed with account holder's name and address. The clerk’s office does not accept debit or credit cards.
By Mail

  1. The request must be made in writing with the submission of a Request for a Record Search and/or Copies form. Please include the following information, if available:
    • Case number;
    • Case Name/Caption;
    • Any additional information available that will assist the clerk with identifying the case
  2. Pay the appropriate fees to the Clerk of the Court. Please refer to the Court Local Fee Schedule under the Record Related Fees section for fee details.
    1. Record Search fee is $15.00 per name search.
    2. Make the check or money order payable to the Superior Court and mail to:

      Superior Court of California, County of Monterey
      Attention: Records
      1200 Aguajito Road
      Monterey, CA 93940
    3. If you are unable to determine the amount due, submit a check payable to the Superior Court with an amount stating "Not to exceed $75.00 Dollars"; this is an estimated amount for the fees due. This payment will allow the Clerk to process your request and to apply the monies to the cost of the research and any other records-related fees. The Clerk will write-in the actual amount due on the check, not exceeding the authorized amount of $75.00. PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH.
    4. All checks must be printed with the account holder's name and address. PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH. The clerk’s office does not accept debit or credit cards.
      See an example of a “not to exceed” check below.

  3. Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope large enough to accommodate your request. Postage will be added to your check if postage is insufficient.



Request to View a Case File
A request to view case files or obtain copies of documents are only available between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

Civil limited, civil unlimited, family law and probate cases are available for viewing by the public at the Clerk's Office, 2nd floor. All civil, family law and probate minute orders resulting from court proceedings held July 9, 2012 and thereafter, are viewable to the public by accessing the computers in the Court’s viewing room.

You will need to provide the case number for the file(s) to be retrieved for viewing. If you are unable to provide the case number, you will be required to follow the Record Search Request process.

The clerk’s office will retrieve up to 3 cases for viewing or 25 cases will be retrieved if requesting sequential case numbers. The files will be available for viewing the same day if the file is located on site. If you are requesting multiple files, we require you to complete the Court File Request Form.

If you are requesting to view more than 3 files (in non-sequential order), the Clerk’s Office requires 72 hours to process your request.

Review of file is dependent upon availability of the file. If the file is stored at an off-site location, the Clerk’s Office requires 6 days to process your request. An Off-Site Retrieval Fee is $10.00 for up to three (3) files.



Request for A Copy Or Certified Copy Of A Court Document
A request for a copy of a document may be made in person at the Clerk's Office of the 2nd floor or submitted in writing by mail.

If the case number is unknown, there will be a fee of $15.00 for the Clerk to conduct the record search or you may conduct your own record search.

Copy Fee

The fee for a copy of a document is .50 cents per page.

Certification Fee

If your document requires the Court’s certification stamp and court seal, declaring the document a true copy of the original, the fee is $25.00 per certification of each document plus the copy fee.

Unless the request is for a certified copy of marriage or domestic partnership dissolution records; the fee is $15.00 per certification of each document plus the copy fee.

Processing Time

Please allow a minimum of 10 days for processing your request.

Request for Copies of Court Document

In - Person
  1. Appear at the Clerk’s Office 2nd floor to request a copy of a document and provide the following information:
    • Case number;
    • Case Name/Caption;
    • Any additional information available that will assist the clerk with identifying the case.
  2. Pay the appropriate fee(s) to the Clerk of the Court.
    • The Clerk’s office accepts cash, checks, and money orders. All checks must be printed with account holder's name and address. The Clerk’s office does not accept debit or credit cards.
By Mail
  1. The request must be made in writing with the submission of a Request for Copy of Court Document. Please include the following information, if available:
    • Case number;
    • Case Name/Caption;
    • Any available additional information that will assist the clerk with identifying the case.
  2. Pay the appropriate fees to the Clerk of the Court. Please refer to the Court Local Fee Schedule under the Record Related Fees section for fee details.
    1. Record Search fee is $15.00 per name search.
    2. Copy fee per page is .50 cents per page;
    3. Certification with Court Seal affixed is $25.00 per document, plus any copy fee(s) per page;
    4. Unless the request is for a certified copy of marriage or domestic partnership dissolution record, the fee is $15.00 per document, plus any copy fee(s) per page;
    5. Off-Site Retrieval fee is $10.00 for up to three (3) files.
  3. Make the check payable to the Superior Court and mail to:

    Superior Court of California, County of Monterey
    Attention: Records
    1200 Aguajito Road
    Monterey, CA 93940

    1. If you are unable to determine the amount due, submit a check payable to the Superior Court with an amount stating "Not to exceed $75.00 Dollars"; this is an estimated amount for the fees due. This payment will allow the Clerk to process your request and to apply the monies to the cost of the research and any other records-related fees. The Clerk will write-in the actual amount due on the check, not exceeding the authorized amount of $75.00.
    2. All checks must be printed with the account holder's name and address. PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH. The clerk’s office does not accept debit or credit cards.
      See an example of a “not to exceed” check below.

  4. Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope large enough to accommodate your request. Postage will be added to your check if postage is insufficient.




Petition for Court Reporter Transcripts
A court transcript is a verbatim record prepared by a court reporter of every word said in the courtroom by the judge, attorneys, witnesses and others while on the record. The court reporter is responsible for preparing transcripts of hearings as required by law or upon request. Except for those transcripts prepared for the Court for certain criminal matters, all other parties requesting transcripts are required to pay reporters for preparation of transcripts at the rate prescribed by law. The rates that reporters may charge for transcripts, as well as other information about reporter transcripts, are contained in the Government Code, starting at section 69950. Requirements for the format of transcripts are set forth in California Rule of Court, 8.144. Click here to review this rule.

Court Reporter Transcript

Transcripts are the property of the court reporter, and the costs for transcripts vary but on average cost $3.00 per page. To request a copy of a transcript, follow the process below:
  1. Submit a Request for Court Reporter’s Transcript to the Clerk’s Office at the Superior Court, Attention: Records, 1200 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940.
  2. Include the following information:
    • Case name & number;
    • Hearing date;
    • Name of judicial officer;
    • Telephone number where you may be contacted;
    • Name of the court reporter, if known; and
    • Your mailing address.
Transcript requests will be forwarded to the appropriate court reporter. The court reporter will contact the requesting party to inform them of the estimated cost, estimated time for processing the request, payment method and delivery options. If the court reporter is a contractor or a non-Court employee, the Court will forward the request accordingly and the contractor reporter will contact the requesting party to confirm the hearing information, estimated cost, estimated processing time, payment method and delivery options.



Request for Audio Recording of Court Proceedings
For cases recorded with an electronic recording device, an audio compact disk (CD) of the hearing will be available through the Clerk’s Office. A transcript will not be prepared by the Court.

The fee for a copy of an audio recording of a court proceeding is $20.00 per CD. The audio recording will be copied to a CD. Audio recordings are available for civil limited and small claims hearings only. To request a CD, you may either appear in person at the clerk’s office or submit your request in writing.

Submit a Request for Audio Recording of Court Proceedings to the Clerk’s Office of the Superior Court, Attention: Records, 1200 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940.
  1. Include the following information:
    • Case name & number;
    • Hearing date;
    • Name of judicial officer;
    • Telephone number where you may be contacted during business hours; and
    • Your mailing address
  2. Please allow 7 to 10 days to process your request.
  3. Pay the appropriate fee(s) to Monterey County Superior Court.
  4. Checks and money orders are accepted. All checks must be printed with the account holder’s name and address. Debit or credit cards are not accepted. PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH.





Request for Marriage License and Death Certificate
If you wish to obtain a copy of your marriage license or a death certificate you must contact the Recorder - County Clerk at http://www.co.monterey.ca.us/recorder/marrlic.htm

Recorder- County Clerk
County Government Administration Building
168 West Alisal Street, 1st Floor
Salinas, CA 93901

Salinas Office: (831) 755- 5450 or (831) 647-7850


Back to Top

2014 © Superior Court of California, County of Monterey
Please email comments to Webmaster