
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA  
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF MONTEREY 

 
NOTICE OF FINE AND FEE CHANGES 

Effective January 1, 2009 
 

The Judicial Council of California has announced that new and changed fees, penalties 
and assessments for civil, criminal, traffic and minor offense cases will go into effect in 
the State’s trial courts effective January 1, 2009.   
 
These increases were authorized as part of Senate Bill 1407 approved by the Legislature 
and signed into law by the Governor earlier this year.  This legislation authorizes up to 
$5 billion in a capital outlay program to fund repairs, renovations and replacement of 
court facilities across the State.   

Civil Fee Changes 
 

The new civil fees will be stated on the revised statewide civil fee schedule.  The final 
version of the fee schedule will be posted to the local Court’s website in mid-December 
at www.monterey.courts.ca.gov.  The civil fee schedule will also be posted to the 
California Court’s web site at www.courtinfo.ca.gov/reference/feeschedule.htm. 
 

Criminal, Traffic and Minor Offense Fine and Fee Changes  
 

A summary of the new criminal, traffic and minor offense fine and fee changes are as 
follows: 
 

• Criminal Conviction Assessment (GC 70373) - New fee assessed for each 
conviction on criminal, traffic and minor offense cases:  $35 for each traffic and 
minor offense case infraction conviction; $30 for each criminal felony and 
misdemeanor conviction; 

 
• State Court Construction Penalty (GC 70372(a)) - Additional penalty 

assessment of $2 for every $10 of base fine on all criminal and traffic cases to 
increase funding for court construction activities.  Monterey County Superior 
Court currently assesses $3 for every $10 for this funding and the increase of the 
new $2 penalty assessment will bring the total funding to $5 for every $10 of 
base fine; 

 
• Traffic Violator School Fee (VC 42007.1) - Traffic school fees increase from 

$24 to $49.  Monterey will also continue to assess an additional  $10 
administrative fee for traffic school processing; therefore, the total combined 
traffic school fees increase from $34 ($24 plus $10) to $59 ($49 plus $10); 

 
• Proof-of-Correction Fee (VC 40611) - Fee increases from $10 per citation to 

$25 per violation. 
 
Monterey County Superior Court will begin assessing and collecting the new civil, 
criminal, traffic and minor offense fines and fees effective January 1, 2009. 
 
 

http://www.monterey.courts.ca.gov/
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/reference/feeschedule.htm

