
If your request was denied by a court staff 
person (not a judge or judicial officer), you 
must give the ADA coordinator or the court a 
letter objecting to the denial within 10 days of 
the date the denial was handed to you or 
sent in the mail. Give or mail your request for 
another review to the same court. 

If your request was denied by a judge or 
judicial officer, you must file a Petition for 
Writ of Mandate in the appellate division of 
that court or with the Court of Appeal within 
10 days of the date the denial was personally 
delivered or sent. 

Warning! Even if you received the denial by 
mail, you do not get any extra time to file for 
review or petition. 

You may copy and share this document freely. 

Resources 

U.S. Department of Justice website, ADA section 

The full text of the Americans with Disabilities 

Act (ADA or 42 U.S.C., §12101 et seq.) is 

available at www.ada.gov/ada_req_ta.htm 

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requires all state and local government 

agencies to provide reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities. 

Rule 1.100 of the California Rules of Court spells out how the courts in our state 

meet the ADA requirements for court activities, programs, and services.

California Courts website 

The full text of Rule 1.100 of the California Rules 

of Court is available at 

www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=one

&linkid=rule1_100 

Most county courts provide information on 

accommodations, including ADA or access 

coordinators’ contact information, online. Access 

your court’s website through 

www.courts.ca.gov/superiorcourts.htm 
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Here are answers to common questions 
about disability accommodations at court. 

1. Who has the right to get an
accommodation?

Any court user with a disability can ask
for an accommodation. The disability
must limit at least one major life activity
such as:

 Walking, seeing, hearing, speaking,
or breathing;

 Caring for oneself; or

 Doing a manual task.

The accommodation must be for a court 
service, program, or activity, including going 
to court to: 

 Testify,

 Appear in a case, or

 Serve on jury duty.

2. What kinds of accommodations does
the court provide?

There are many different kinds of
accommodations. However, the court must
give a “reasonable” accommodation under the
circumstances. The kind of accommodation
depends on the needs of the person with the
disability.

http://www.ada.gov/ada_req_ta.htm
http://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=one&linkid=rule1_100
http://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=one&linkid=rule1_100
http://www.courts.ca.gov/superiorcourts.htm


 The court may… 

Make changes to procedures 

 Reassign a hearing to an accessible site, 
or 

 Adjust schedules (as long as legal 
deadlines are not missed). 

Provide assistive devices 

 Assistive listening devices, or 

 Computer-assisted real-time transcription 
(CART). 

Assign assistive services 

 Reader for someone with vision loss, or 

 Sign language interpreter for someone 
with hearing loss. 

3. Are the court’s accommodations 
free? 

Yes. The court does not charge for the 
accommodations it provides. 

4. How do I ask for an 
accommodation? 

The California courts have a system that 
allows people with a disability to ask for an 
accommodation in advance. Every county 
court has at least one ADA Coordinator to 
handle accommodation requests. 

You may: 

 Call and ask for the ADA Coordinator, 

 Send a letter, or 

 Fill out form MC-410 (Request for 

Disability Accommodation). 

Note: The form may be easiest, because 
you can list all the information the court 
needs to consider your request. 

5. Where can I get a request form? 

The form MC-410 is available at 

 The ADA Coordinator, 

 A law library, or 

 The courts’ website: 
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/mc
410.pdf. 

6. When should I ask for an 
accommodation? 

Mail or take your form to court at least 5 
business days before the date you need 
the accommodation. If you can do it sooner, 
please do so. 

The courts prefer advance requests so 
there will be time to understand and 
respond to your particular needs. 
Sometimes the ADA Coordinator may need 
more information, such as a letter from a 
healthcare provider. 

7. What if I cannot ask for the 
accommodation in advance? 

You should still ask. There still may be 
things the court can do to accommodate 
your needs. You can: 

 Ask to speak to the ADA Coordinator 
when you arrive at court, or 

 Tell the judge you need an 
accommodation because of a disability. 

Caution! When you are with the judge, you 
must not talk about your case. 

8. What happens after I submit my 
request for accommodation? 

Some accommodations, such as assistive 
listening devices or wheelchair access in  

the courtroom, can be arranged easily, 
sometimes on the same day. Others may 
take more time to prepare. The court will 
give you a written decision if it cannot 
accommodate you. 

9. What information is required to 
ask for an accommodation? 

 The date of your hearing or other 
proceeding, 

 The type of court case, 

 Why you need the accommodation 
for your disability, and 

 Any other important information about 
the accommodation you need. 

10. Will the court give me the 
accommodation I ask for? 

The court will give you an accommodation 
that lets you participate effectively in court 
programs, activities, and services. But it 
may not be exactly what you asked for. 

11. If I am involved in a court case, 
do I have to tell the other people 
in my case about my disability 
or my accommodation request? 

No, unless you request a continuance of 
your case as an accommodation for your 
disability. For a continuance, you must 
give notice and share the request and 
supporting information with the opposing 
party. 

12. Is my request for an 
accommodation kept private? 

Yes, the court will keep your information 
private unless you request a continuance 
in your case. See question no. 11 above. 

13. Do I have to accept alternative 
accommodations? 

The court is allowed to offer effective 
alternatives. If you are not able to use the 
alternative offered, let the court know. For 
example, if assistive listening devices do not 
help because of severe hearing loss, 
computer-aided transcription may be 
available. 

14. Does the court ever turn down a 
request for accommodation? 

Yes. The court can deny your request if: 

 You are not eligible or 

 Your request would cause too much of a 
financial or administrative burden on the 
court, or if it would change the basic 
nature of the service, program, or 
activity. 

The court must explain the reason for 
denying your request. It cannot ignore any 
requests for accommodations. 

15. Does the court have to pay for or 
provide medical equipment or 
services I may need at court? 

No. The court does not have to provide or 
pay for personal needs, including: 

 A personal care assistant to help 
someone eat or use the bathroom. 

 Personal hearing aids, prescription 
eyeglasses, or walkers. 

 A free lawyer, paralegal, or assistant. 

16. What if I disagree with the decision 
to deny my request? 

You are allowed to ask for another review of 

your request. (continued on the back) 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/

