SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA
COUNTY OF MONTEREY

1200 Aguajitc Road « Monterey, California « 93940 - {831} 647-5800
www.monterey.courts.ca.gov

FAMILY CENTERED CASE RESOLUTION -
Dissolution, Legal Separation or Nullity

California Rule of Court 5.83

This packet contains information to help summarize the case status review:; family centered case
resolution conference hearing; and the process of a case from filing to disposition (final judgment).

CASE RESOLUTION PROCESS & CONFERENCES (FCCR)

When a divorce, legal separation or nullity case is filed, court staff schedules two status reviews, that
do not require appearance in court, by the parties. The reviews are conducted at approximately 6
months after the filing date and 12 months after the filing date. You will be notified of any
outstanding documents or action to be taken to complete your case. A family centered case
resolution conference hearing (FCCR) is scheduled approximately 18 months after the filing date if
final judgment has not been entered. A FCCR is a court hearing, and the parties and their attorneys
need to be present.

Why do | have these reviews and court date?

The law requires you to finish your case on time. If you do not finish your case (get a judgment) on
time, the judge may dismiss your case according to the timelines set forth in the law; if the case is
dismissed then you may have to start your case over (Family Code section 2450; C.C.P. sections
583.250 and 583.360). It can be complicated and confusing to complete your family law case, and
there are many papers that must be filled out correctly and filed with the court clerk. If you comply
with the steps needed when you receive notification from the clerk, your judgment can be entered
and a case resolution conference will not be needed.

What will happen at the court date?
At the hearing a judicial officer will work with the parties or refer the parties to resources to develop
a plan for resolving issues as quickly, fairly, and efficiently as possible. Trial dates may be set at the
conference if the case is ready to be set for trial and if requested.

CASE RESOLUTION INFORMATION & RESOURCES

Summary of Case Process: Judicial Council form FL-107-INFO found at http://www.courts.ca.gov
provides an overview of the legal steps, important notices, statewide resources, and services
available at all California courts.

Legal Advice: The Clerks and Self-Help Center cannot provide legal advice, but you may always
consult with an attorney.

18 is the mission of the Monferey County Superior Court fo serve the public in a respectfud, courteous and efficient manner
promoting trust and confidence in the legnl system by providing fair, equal and open access to justice.
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STEP 1. Start Your Case
* The petitioner (the person who files the first divorce or legal separation forms with the court) fills out and files with the court
clerk at least a Petition-— Marriage Domestic Partnership (form FL-100) and a Summons (form FL-110) and, if there are
children of the relationship, a Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (form FL-105).
* The forms needed to start your case and information about filing fees and fee waivers are available at “Filing Your Case,” at
couris.ca. gov filing.
* The court clerk will stamp and return copies of the filed forms to the petitioner.

¥
STEP 2. Serve the Forms

* Someone 18 or older-not the petitioner-serves the spouse or domestic partner {called the respondent) with ail the forms from
Step 1 plus a blank Response- Marriage/Domestic Parinership (form FL-120) and files with the court 2 proof-of-service form,
such as Proof of Service of Summons (form FL-115), telling when and how the respondent was served. (To serve means “to give
in the proper legal way.”) For more information, see “Serving Your First Set of Court Forms™ at courts. ca.gov filing.

* The respondent has 30 days to file and serve a Response. So, the petitioner must wait 30 days before starting Step 4.
J

STEP 3. Disclose Financial Information

* At the same time as Step 1 or within 60 days of filing the Perition, the petitioner must fill out and have these documents served
on the respondent: Declaration of Disclosure (form FL-140), Income and Expense Declaration (form FL-150), Schedule of
Assets and Debis (form FL-142) or Property Declaration (form FL-160), and all tax returns filed by the party in the two years
before serving the disclosure documents. These disclosure documents are not filed with the court.

* Ifthe respondent files a Response, he or she must also complete and serve the same disclosure documents on the petitioner
within 60 days of filing the Response.

* The 60-day time frame for serving the disclosures may be changed by written agreement between the parties or by court order.

* The petitioner and respondent cach file a Declaration Regarding Service (form FL-14 1) with the court saying disclosures
were served. If the respondent does not serve disclosures, the petitioner can still finish the case without them For more
information, see “Fill Out and Serve Your Financial Declaration of Disclosure Forms™ at cour{s.ca.gov filing (click on Step 4).

N2
STEP 4. Finish the Divorce or Legal Separation Case in One of Four Ways
4 4
Respondent does not file 2 Response (called “default”) Respondent files a Response

N2 L2 4 4

No Response and NO
written agreement:
Petitioner waits 30 days after
Step 2 is complete and
prepares a proposed Judgment
(form F1.-180), together with
all other needed forms. See

No Response BUT written
agreement: Petitioner attaches
the signed and notarized
agreement to the proposed
Judgment (form FL-180),
together with all other needed
forms. See “Default Case with

agreement: Either party files
\Appearance, Stipulations, and
Waivers (form FL-130) and the
proposed Judgment with
written agreement attached and
other needed forms. See

Fesponse AND written

Response and NO
agreement: Parties must
go to trial to have a judge
resolve the issues. See
“Contested Case” at

COUNLS. Cca.gov contested,

“True Default Case” at comrzs. | | Written Agreement” at courts, “Uncontested Case™ at courts
cd. gov Iruedgfqglt. cd.gov u‘lj: .'_m'h.r_';rm' cd. gov uncontested
IMPORTANT NOTICES

* The earliest you can be divorced is six months and one day from one of these three dates (whichever occurs first):
(1) the date Respondent was served with the Summons (form FL-110) and Petition (form FL-100), (2) the date the
Response (form FL-120) was filed. or (3) the date Appearance, Stipulations, and Waivers (form FL-130) was filed.
Legal separation has no waiting period. You are NOT divorced or legally separated until the court enters a Judgment in

your case.
* If you need court orders for child support, custody. parenting time (visitation), spousal or partner support. restraining
orders. or other issues, file a Request for Order (form FL-300) asking for temporary orders. See “Request for Order
Information” at courts.ca.gov divorcereguests for more information.
o Annulments: See courts ca gov annulment for information about annulments.

o

¢ You must keep the court and the other party informed of any change in your mailing address or other contact
information. File and serve a Notice of Change of Address or Other Contact Information (form MC-040) on the other

party or his or her attorney to let them know about the change in your contact information.

FL-107-INFO, Page 1 of 2
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Do you have a registered domestic partnership? The process for a divorce or legal separation of a domestic partnership
is the same as on page 1. For information about ending your domestic partnership in the superior court, see couwris.ca,
gov filing. To find out if you are eligible to end your domestic partnership through the Secretary of State, see courts.ca.
gov summdissodp. Note: There may be differences in federal taxes and other issues for domestic partnerships. Seek
advice from an attorney experienced in domestic partner law.

What if you want a legal separation? The process on page 1 is the same, except you will NOT get a Judgment for legal
separation unless both parties agree to a legal separation OR if respondent has not filed a Response. If both parties agree
to be legally separated but do not agree on other issues, the parties must go to trial to have a judge resolve those issues.
You are NOT legally separated until you receive a Judgment signed by the court. For more information, see “Legal
Separation™ at cowrts.ca.gov legalseparation, AFTER the court enters a judgment for legal separation, if you decide you
want a divorce, you must start a new case to request a divorce and pay another filing fee.

Getting help to resolve divorce or legal separation cases

You may prefer to resolve some or all of the issues in your divorce or legal separation case without having the court
decide for you. You and your spouse or domestic partner can put your agreement in writing and file it in your case. But
your agreement must follow all legal requirements.

Court Services Where can | get help?

* Family Law Facilitators and Self-Help Centers This information sheet gives you only basic information on
help with court forms and instructions. They can the divorce or legal separation and is not legal advice. If you
provide samples of agreements and other want legal advice, ask a iawyer for help. You may also:

information and, in some cases, help with mediation.
* Contact the family law facilitator or self-help center in

your court for information, court forms, and referrals to
local legal resources. For more information, see

COUrLs.ca. goVv/COUrIFeSOurces.

* Family Court Services. If you and the other parent
already have a family law case and have filed a
Reguest for Order (form FL-300) seeking orders
about child custody and visitation (parenting time),

the court will refer you to Family Court Services. * Find a lawyer through a certified lawyer referral service
They provide child custody mediation or child on the State Bar of California's website:

custody recommending counseling to try to help you calbar.ca.gov/LRS or by calling 866-442-2529

both make a parenting plan that is in the best interest (toll-free).

of your child. Note: They cannot help with financial

* Hire a private mediator. For more information about
court and private services, see courss.ca.gov selthelp-adr.
hm,

issues.

+ Settlement Conferences. An informal process in
which a judge or an experienced lawyer meets with

the parties and their lawyers to discuss the case and . ; e .
their positions and suggests a resolution. The parties . E‘:Id l(rjlgga:‘iggs?tr;.thzg‘a:hfomligo;n‘tslom1ne Self-
can either agree to the suggestions or use the P  courts.ca.goviselfhelp.
suggestions to help in further settlement discussions. " Find free and low-cost legal help (f you qualify)ar
. i ) . lawhelpcalifornio. org. ’
Private services (which you can hire R
to help you resolve your case): * Find information at your local law library or public
library,

¢ Lawyers. Also called attorneys, lawyers can help
work out agreements between the parties and : . . ”
represent you at court hearings and trials, What if there is domestic violence?
If there is domestic violence or a protective or restraining
order, talk to a lawyer, counselor, or mediator before

making agreements.

* Collaborative Lawyers. Lawyers who represent
each party but do not go to court. They try to reach
an agreement. If court is necessary, the parties must

hire new lawyers, L . .
gl For domestic viclence help, call the National Domestic

* Mediators. A lawyer or counselor who helps the Violence Hotline: 800-799-7233; TDD: 800-787-3224; or
parties communicate to explore options and reach a 211 (if available in your area).
mutually acceptable resolution.

Rev! deuary ;2015 lLegal Steps for a Divorce or Legal Separation FL-107-INFO, Page 2 of 2
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(formulario FL-105).

PASO 1. Empiece su caso

*» El demandante (la persona que presenta la demanda inicial de divorcio o separacién legal en la corte) Hena y presenta como minimo los
siguientes documentos: una Peticidn - Matrimonio/Pareja de Hecho (formulario FL-100) y una Citacién (formulario FL-110), y si el
matrimonio produjo hijos, una Declaracion conforme a la Ley Uniforme de Jurisdiccion y Cumplimiento de la Custodia de los Hijos

* Los formularios necesarios para comenzar su caso, al igual que la informacién sobre las cuotas de la corte y la exencidn de cuotas, estin
disponibles en la pigina “Como presentar su caso en courfs.ca.gov/presentar.
» El secretario de la corte sellard y devolvera las copias presentadas al demandante.

¥

continuar al Paso 4.

PASO 2. Entregue los formularios

* Alguien de al menos 18 afios de edad - no ¢l demandante - ticne que entregarle al otro cényuge o pareja de hecho (llamado el
demandado) una copia de todos los formularios mencionados en el Paso 1, mas una Respuesta - Matrimonio (formulario FL-120) en
blanco. El demandante presenta en la corte un comprobante de entrega, por ejemplo una Prueba de entrega de la citacion (formulario
FL-115) detallando cuindo y cémo se hizo la entrega legal al demandado. (“Entrega legal” significa “entregar documentos de la manera
legal apropiada™). Para mas informacién vea “Entregue sus formularios iniciales” en courfs.ca.

* El demandado tiene 30 dias para presentar y entregar una Respuesta. Por ¢so, el demandante tiene que esperar 30 dias anfes de

v/ presentar.

2

presentan en la corte.

PASO 3. Revelacion de informacion financiera

» Al mismo tiempo gue completa el Paso 1 o dentro de 60 dias de haberlo hecho, el demandante tiene que [lenar y entregarle al
demandado una Declaracién de revelacion (formulario FL-140), una Declaracidn de ingresos y gastos (formulario FL-150) y una Lista
de bienes y deudas (formulario FL-142) o una Declaraciin de propiedad (formulario FL-160), asi como todas las declaraciones de
impuestos presentadas en los 2 afios anteriores a la entrega de los documentos de revelacién. Estos documentos de revelacién no se

* Si ¢l demandado presenta una Respuesta, también tiene que completar y entregar al demandante los mismos documentos de
revelacién deniro de 60 dias de presentar la Respuesia.

* Se puede cambiar el plazo de 60 dias para completar y entregar la revelacion financiera mediante un acuerdo por escrito entre las
partes o por una orden de la corte.

¢ El demandante y el demandado tienen que presentar una Declaracion de la entrega (formulario FL-141) en la corte diciendo que
los documentos de revelacion fueron entregados. Si el demandado no hace la entrega de estos documentos, el demandante atin
asi puede finalizar el caso sin ellos. Para mas informacion, lea “Llene y entregue sus formularios de revelacién financiera” en

courts.ca.gov/presentar (haga clic en el paso 4).

N

| PASO 4. Finalice su divorcio o separacion legal de una de estas 4 formas |

¥

El demandado no presenta una Respuesta (llamado
“falta de comparecencia” o default en inglés)

V

WV

W

| Eldemandado presenta una Respuesta |
v

v

NI Respuesta Nl acuerdo por
escrito: El demandante espera
30 dias después de completar el
paso 2 y prepara un Fallo
(formulario FL-180) de propuesta,
junto con todos los otros
formularios necesarios. Vea
“Caso de falta de comparecencia
verdadera”™ en www.courts.ca, gow

faltaverdadera.

Sin Respuesta pero CON
acuerdo por escrito: El
demandante adjunta el acuerdo
firmado y notariado al Fallo
(formulario FL-180) de
propuesta, junto con todos los
otros formularios necesarios. Vea
“Caso de falta de comparecencia
con acuerdo”™ en www.courts.ca.
gov/faltaconacuerdo.

Respuesta Y acuerdo por
escrito: Cualquiera de las dos
partes presenta una
Comparecencia, estipulaciones
y exenciones (formulario
FL.-130) y el Fallo de propuesta,
junto con el acuerdo por escrifo
y otros formularios necesarios.
Vea “Caso sin disputa™ en

Www.courts,ca. gov/sindisputa.

Respuesta SIN acuerdo:
Las partes tienen que asistir

a un juicio para que un juez
tome decisiones sobre los
temas del caso. Vea “Caso
disputado” en www.courts.ca.
gov/disputado.

emita un Fallo en su caso.

AVISOS IMPORTANTES

* No podra completar su divorcio hasta por fo menos 6 meses y un dia después de una de las fechas (la que ocurra primero)
en la que el demandado haya: (1) recibido la Citacion (formulario 110) y la Peticion (formulario FL-100), (2) presentado
una Respuesta (formulario FL-120), o (3) presentado una Comparecencia, estipulaciones y exenciones (formulario FL-130).
La separacion legal no requiere ningtn periodo de espera. NO estara divorciado ni separado legalmente hasta que Ia corte

* Sinecesita ordenes de manutencion de los hijos, custodia u horario de crianza (visitacion), manutencion del cényuge o pareja
de hecho, 6rdenes de restriccion v 6rdenes sobre otros temas, puede presentar una Solicitud de orden (formulario FL-300)

pidiendo 6rdenes temporales. Vea “Informacion sobre solicitudes de 6rdenes en www. courts.ca.gov/autoayuda-

solicitudesdivorcio.

* Para anulaciones: Vea www.cour(s.ca.govanulacion para informacion acerca de la anulacion.

» Tiene que mantener a la corte y a la otra parte informada en todo momento de su direccion postal u otra informacion
de contacto. Debe presentar un Aviso de cambio de direccion u otra informacion de contacio (formulario MC-040),
y entregérselo a la otra parte, o al abogado de la otra parte, para que sepan de su cambio de informacién de contacto.

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
Revise January 1, 2015, Optional Form
Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.83
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¢Tiene una pareja de hecho registrada? El proceso de divorcio o separacién legal de una pareja de hecho es
igual a la indicada en la pagina 1. Para obtener informacién sobre como dar por terminada su pareja de hecho en la corte
superior, vea courfs.ca.gov/presentar Para averiguar si es elegible para dar fin a su pareja de hecho a través de la
Secretaria de Estado, vea courts.ca.gov/disosumariaph Nota: Los impuestos federales y otros asunios pueden ser
diferentes para las parejas de hecho. Consuite un abogado que tenga experiencia en las leyes sobre las parejas de hecho.

¢Quiere una separacion legal? El proceso indicado en la pagina 1 es el mismo, excepto que NO obtendra un
Fallo de separacion legal a menos que ambas partes estén de acuerdo con la separacion legal O si el demandado no ha
presentado una Respuesta. Si ambas partes estin de acuerdo con la separacion legal pero no se ponen de acuerdo sobre
otros asuntos, tienen que tener un juicio para que un juez resuelva esos asuntos. Usted NO estd separado legalmente
hasta que reciba un Fallo firmado por la corte. Para obtener mas informacion, vea “Separacion legal” en courts.ca gov/
separacionlegal. Si decide que quiere un divorcio DESPUES de que la corte emita un fallo de separacion legal, tiene
que empezar un caso nuevo para solicitar un divorcio y pagar otra cuota de presentacion.

Coémo obtener ayuda para resolver casos de divorcio o separacién legal
Es posible que prefiera resolver algunos o todos los asuntos de su caso de divorcio o separacion legal sin que la corte los
decida por usted. Usted y su conyuge o pareja de hecho pueden poner su acuerdo por escrito y presentarlo como parte de
su caso. Pero su acuerdo tiene que cumplir con todos los requisiios legales.

Servicios de la corte ¢Donde puedo obtener ayuda?

* Los ;sisten:ites df derecho fa;nilia:i y .cenc:rcis de Esta hoja informativa solo le da informacién basica sobre
ayuda ayudan & la gente con formularios de la corte el divorcio o la separacién legal y no es asesoramiento legal.

e instrucciones. Pueden darle ejemplos de acuerdos Si desea obtener asesoramiento legal, pidale ayuda a un
y otra informacién 1til, y en algunos casos pueden abogado. Ademas puede:

udar con la mediacion. ] . vye
ay ¢ Comunicarse con el asistente de derecho familiar o centro

* Servicios de la corte de familia. Si usted y el otro de ayuda en su corte para obtener informacion, formularios
padre ya tienen un caso de derecho de familia y de 1a corte y remisiones a recursos legales en su zona. Para
presentaron una Solicitud de orden (formulario obtener mas informacion, vea courts.ca.gov/recursoscorte.

FL-300) pidiendo érdenes de cusiodia y visitacidn ] . ..
(tiempo de crianza) de los hijos, la corte los remitiraa  * Encontrar un abogado a través de un servicio de remision

los Servicios de la corte de familia. Proporcionan a abogados certificado en el sitio web del Colegio de

servicios de mediacién de custodia de los hijos o Abogados de California: calbar.ca.gov/LRS o llamando
consejeria recomendante sobre la custodia de los hijos al 866-442-2529 (sin cargo).

para ayudarles a hacer un plan de crianza que sirvael ~ « Contratar un mediador privado. Para obtener més
mejor interés de su hijo. Nota: No pueden ayudar con informacién sobre los servicios de la corte y servicios
asuntos financieros. privados, vea www.courts.ca.gov/autoayuda-adr. htm.

* Reuniones de acuerdo. Un proceso informal en el que . . .
unjuez o abogado con mucha experiencia se reune con . Obtg:ner informacion en el S!tlD web del centro de ayuda
las partes y sus abogados para hablar sobre el caso y la en linea de las cortes de California: www.sucorte.ca.gov.
postura de cada parte, y sugiere una resolucion. Las
partes pueden aceptar las sugerencias o usarlas para
ayudar en futuras reuniones de acuerdo.

» Encontrar ayuda legal gratis y de bajo costo (si califica)
en lawhelpcalifornia.org.

. . . * Obtener informacion en la biblioteca legal o biblioteca
Servicios privados (que puede contratar  publica en su zona.

para ayudarle a resolver su caso): i . . . ”
¢ Abogados. Los abogados pueden ayudar a que las ¢,Que pasa st hay violencia en el hogar :

partes lleguen a un acuerdo y pueden representarlo Si hay violencia en el hogar o una orden de proteccién
en audiencias y juicios en la corte. o restriccion, hable con un abogado, consejero o mediador

» Abogados colaboratives. Son abogados que antes de llegar a un acuerdo.

representan a cada parte pero no van a la corte. Intentan . )
p p p Para obtener ayuda con la violencia en el hogar, llame a la

llegar  um acuerdo. Sihace falta ir a la corte, las partes Linea nacional sobre la violencia doméstica al 800-799-7233;

- . que contratar abogados nu_evos. TDD: 800-787-3224; 0 al 211 (si se ofrece este servicio en
* Mediadores. Un abogado o consejero que les ayuda su zona).

a las partes a comunicarse para explorar sus opciones
y llegar a una resolucién mutuamente aceptable.

Rev Jenuary 1, 2015 Pasos legales en un divorcio o separacion legal FL-107-INFO 8, Pagina 2 de 2
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SELF-HELP CENTER

If you do not have a lawyer, you can obtain information and procedural assistance from the
Court’s Self-Help Center. The Self-Heip Center does not represent you and cannot give you
legal advice about what is in your best interests. Quick information and referral services are
offered in English and Spanish at our offices in Monterey (Monday-Friday, 9:00-4:00), in
Salinas (Monday and Wednesday, 9:00-3:00) and in King City (second Tuesday of each
month, 9:00 to 3:00). Remote (by phone) Appointments can be made with Self-Help

Staff. You can also ask for assistance remotely by contacting
selfhelpcenter@monterey.courts.ca.gov, or calling 831-647-5800, ex. 3005.

LOW COST LEGAL ADVICE AND FAMILY LAW LAWYERS

The Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) of the Monterey County Bar Association provides low-cost
consultation referral to a pre-screened local attorney. LRS can recommend qualified lawyers
who may be able to help you with your legal issues. You can have a 30 minute consultation
with an attorney for $40. Services are available in Spanish. Youcan contact LRS at: (831) 582-
3600 or hitp://www.montereycountybar.org/irs.htm

IHE YWCA OF MONTEREY COUNTY

The YWCA of Monterey County is an agency located in Salinas that helps with domestic
violence, human trafficking, prevention and intervention services. They also provide assistance
with filing restraining orders, divorce, child custody and visitation orders, cease and desist letters,
safe at home application and court accompaniment. Court accompaniment is only provided for
restraining order clients the YWCA assisted. Services are available in Spanish. Office number is
(831) 422-8602; The YWCA Monterey County has a 24-hour crisis line and Emergency Shelter
The crisis line numbers are: (831)372-6300 and (831)757-1001.

THE MONTEREY COLLEGE OF LAW

The Monterey College of Law (MCL) offers workshops where you can get help finishing your
divorce or filing a restraining order against an intimate partner, spouse, family member, neighbor
or co-worker. Services are available in Spanish. You can contact thecollege at (831) 582-3600 or
schedule an appointment on-line at: hitp://www.montereylaw.edu/services.

EREE INTERNET HELP

There are many web sites where you can find assistance in completing forms and
information about how to process your case. Here are some helpful sites:

California’s Seif-Help Center Department of Child Support Services
www. coults.ca.gov/selfhelp http.//medcss.orq/

Further Information Guide and File

hitp://avww.lawhelp.org/ hitps./fiwww.monterey.courts.ca.qov/self-

helpfile-at-home

Forms
www.courts.ca.qov/forms

hitp://basic.cc-courthelp.org/index. cfm?pageid=5605&noheader=1
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