SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA COUNTY OF MONTEREY

CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON INSTRUCTION PACKET



FORMS INCLUDED IN THIS PACKET				
Filing Instructions for Monterey County				
Instruction Sheet-Certificate of Rehabilitation & Pardon				
Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation & Pardon	CA Dept. Corrections & Rehab. Form 1			
Instruction Sheet- Notice of Filing of Petition				
Notice of filing of Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation & Pardon	CA Dept. Corrections & Rehab. Form 2			
Certificate of Rehabilitation	CA Dept. Corrections & Rehab. Form 3			

Certificates of Rehabilitation in Monterey County Filing Instructions

- 1. You must be a current resident of Monterey County to file a certificate of rehabilitation in Monterey County. Also, you must have continuously lived in the State of California for the last 5 years. The offense(s) may have occurred in any county in California.
- 2. You will be completing three forms
 - a. Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon Form 1
 - b. Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon Form 2 (fill out Page 1 only, other 2 pages for the person who serves; court clerk will fill in the date, time and department for hearing)
 - c. *Certificate of Rehabilitation Form 3*. (only fill out top, leave "Certificate Number" blank)
- 3. The Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon form will be served on the Governor, the District Attorney of the County of Monterey, and if you have any offenses that occurred in counties other than Monterey, to the District Attorney of those Counties. So you will need to make at least 3 copies of the Notice of Filing form before you take it to the courthouse to file.
- 4. File the three forms with the court. The clerk will not charge you any money for filing the petition. (Pen. Code, § 4852.09.)
- 5. Ask the clerk to set the date, time, and department for the hearing. There is space for the clerk to fill this information in on the Notice of Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon.
- 6. Make sure the clerk leaves enough time for you to serve the documents on the people designated below at least 30 days before the hearing. Add 5 extra days if service is by mail. Or you can ask someone to deliver the Notice of Filing (see Page 3 of the Notice of Filing form called "Notice of Service in Person")
- 7. If using mail to send out the Notice, you will need to find a Notary Public to do the mailing for you to the Governor and to the District Attorney(s).

California Governor State Capitol Building Sacramento, CA 95814 District Attorney County of Monterey 142 West Alisal St. Suite A Salinas, CA 93901 The district attorney in the California county in which you were convicted if different than Monterey.

- 8. File with the court the proof of service for the Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon signed by Notary Public if mailed. (*If delivering, signed by the person receiving it.*) The proof of service that you file should be stapled to the Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation.
- 9. You will then hear from the District Attorney's Office, which will request information from you. Answer their questions.
- 10. Attend the hearing.

FORM 1 INSTRUCTIONS

1. Obtain Your Criminal Records

To complete this form, you will need information regarding each of your felony convictions, including the date of each conviction, the specific charge or charges for which you were convicted, the county of the conviction, and the sentence that was given. In addition, you will need to know the date that you were released from prison or jail and/or discharged from parole or probation.

This information may be obtained through the court in which the conviction(s) took place, or you may obtain a copy of your state criminal record through the California Department of Justice. You may only obtain your own records from the Department of Justice. Information regarding this request may be obtained through the Office of the Attorney General website at https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/record-review.. Regardless of the number of convictions, you will be filing only a single petition.

2. Confirm Your Eligibility

You are *ineligible* for a certificate of rehabilitation if any of the following are true:

- You were convicted only of misdemeanors (other than sex offenses defined in Penal Code section 290, which were subsequently expunged) (Pen. Code, §4852.01, (b).)
- You were convicted of specific sex crimes involving minor children as enumerated under Penal Code sections 286, subdivision (c), 288, 288a, subdivision (c), 288.5, and 289, subdivision (j). (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
- You are serving mandatory life parole. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
- You were sent to state prison under a death sentence. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
- You are currently in military service. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)

Minimum Period of Rehabilitation

In order to be granted a certificate of rehabilitation you must satisfy a minimum period of rehabilitation. In every case, you must have resided continuously for **five** years in this state prior to filing the petition. (Pen. Code, § 4852.06) The period of rehabilitation begins to run upon your discharge from custody or upon release on parole or probation, whichever is sooner. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a).) The period of rehabilitation shall constitute **five** years residence in this state, **plus** a period of time determined by the following rules:

- An additional **four** years in the case of any person convicted of violating Section 187 (murder), 209 (aggravated kidnapping), 219 (derailing or wrecking a train), 4500 (assault with force likely to cause great bodily injury), or 12310 (use of explosives or destructive devices causing death, mayhem, or great bodily injury) of the Penal Code, or subdivision (a) of Section 1672 of the Military and Veterans Code (acting or failing to act so as to cause another person's death), or any other offense which carries a life sentence. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a)(1).)
- An additional five years in the case of any person convicted of any offense or attempted offense for which sex offender registration is required pursuant to Penal Code 290, except for convictions for violations of subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2 (possession or distribution of media depicting a minor engaging in sexual conduct), or of Section 311.3 (sexual exploitation of a child), 311.10 (advertising obscene matter depicting a minor engaging in sexual conduct), or 314 (indecent exposure). For those convictions, two years shall be added to the five years imposed by this section. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a)(2).)

- An additional two years in the case of any person convicted of committing any offense not listed above and which does not carry a life sentence. (Pen. Code, §4852.03, (a)(3).)
- Additionally, the trial court hearing your application for a certificate of rehabilitation may add additional years if you served consecutive sentences. The amount of additional time will not exceed the sum of the maximum penalties for all your crimes. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a)(4).)

Felony Probation

If you were released on felony probation and successfully completed probation, you must obtain relief under Penal Code Section 1203.4 before applying for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.

3. File Your Documents

- After completing the *Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon*, you must file it with the superior court in the county in which you reside. (Pen. Code, § 4852.06.)
- You are entitled to be represented by an attorney of your own selection, or by the public defender. (Pen. Code, § 4852.08.)
- You are entitled to receive assistance from all rehabilitative agencies including officers from adult probation and parole, and for persons under the age of 30 years, from the Division of Juvenile Facilities. (Pen. Code, § 4852.04)
- It is unlawful for anyone, other than an attorney, to accept any fee, money or anything of value for their services in representing you in this proceeding. (Pen. Code, § 4852.2.)
- You are not required to pay filing fees of any kind in connection with this proceeding. (Pen. Code, § 4852.09.)

4. Notice of Filing

When the court sets a hearing date on your petition, you are required to give notice of that date at least 30 days before the hearing. You must formally notify the District Attorney for each county in which you have been convicted, the county in which the petition is filed, and the Governor's Office. (Pen. Code, § 4852.07.) For more information on the notice requirements, please reference the **Notice of Filing of Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon.**

5. After a Certificate of Rehabilitation is Issued

A certificate of rehabilitation is not an automatic pardon; it is only an automatic application for a pardon. In the event that a certificate of rehabilitation is issued by a court, the certificate of rehabilitation shall be reviewed by the Board of Parole Hearings within one year. Thereafter, the Board shall issue a recommendation as to whether the Governor should pardon that individual. (Pen. Code, § 4852.16, (b).)

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

In the Matter of the Application of	Applicant's County of Residence	
Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix	Court use only	
Date of Birth		
CII Number		
Criminal Case Number	<u> </u>	

PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON

Pursuant to Penal Code Sections 4852.01 and 4852.06

The above-named applicant hereby respectfully represents and shows that:

FELONY HISTORY

[All felony convictions must be listed. If you have suffered more than three (3) felony convictions, attach additional sheets following the same format.]

Most Recent Felony Convictions

On or about, I was convicted	of the crime of,
Month Day, Year	Indicate crime and Penal Code Section
In the county of,	California. My sentence for this offense was
[Check all t	hat apply]
☐ Commitment to state prison or other state in	nstitution at
	Name of institution or city where located
$\hfill\Box$ Probation with suspended sentence to state prison	or other state institution;
Drobation often the contensing presentings were	v ramanada d
☐ Probation, after the sentencing proceedings were s	suspended.
Thereafter, on or about	, I was;
$\hfill \square$ Discharged from state prison or other state instituti	on after completing my sentence;
\square Released on parole, from which I was finally discha	arged on;
	Discharge date
☐ Released from custody on probation after serving a	a jail sentence;
$\hfill\Box$ As a condition of my probation, I was released from	n custody after serving time in jail, and successfully
complete my probation on	, and obtained relief under Penal Code
Date probation ended	
section 1203.4 on	·
☐ Felony conviction was reduced to a misdemeanor (

Second Most Recent Felony Convictions

On or about	, I was convicted of the crime of
	Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section
In the county of	, California. My sentence for this offense was
	[Check all that apply]
☐ Commitment	to state prison or other state institution at
	Name of institution or city where located
	uspended sentence to state prison or other state institution;
	the sentencing proceedings were suspended.
Thereafter, on or a	Date released from custody
☐ Discharged from	n state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence;
\square Released on pa	role, from which I was finally discharged on
☐ Released from	Discharge date custody on probation after serving a jail sentence;
\square As a condition of	f my probation, I was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully
Complete my pr	obation on, and obtained relief under Penal Code
Section 1203.4	Date probation ended On
	Date 1203.4 granted by the court
☐ Felony conviction	n was reduced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):
	Third Most Recent Felony Conviction
On or about	, I was convicted of the crime of
	Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section
In the county of	, California. My sentence for this offense was:
	[Check all that apply]
☐ Commitment	to state prison or other state institution at
☐ Probation with s	Name of institution or city where located uspended sentence to state prison or other state institution;
☐ Probation, after	the sentencing proceedings were suspended.
Thereafter, on or a	Date released from custody
-	n state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence;
☐ Released on pa	role, from which I was finally discharged on
☐ Released from	role, from which I was finally discharged on
☐ Released from o	role, from which I was finally discharged on
☐ Released from o	role, from which I was finally discharged on
☐ Released from o	role, from which I was finally discharged on

RESIDENCY HISTORY

I am now a resident of the State of California, and I have contin	uously resided in the State of California
from, to the presen	it date.
Month Day, Year	
APPLICANT'S DECLA	RATION
During the period of my rehabilitation, I have lived an hones sobriety and industry, and exhibited good moral character. I hat the land.(Pen. Code, § 4852.05.)	
WHEREFORE , Your petitioner prays that the Court make petitioner has been rehabilitated; and for a certificate of rehabilithe State of California grant petitioner a full pardon; and that for hearing of the foregoing petition; and that other and neces premises.	litation recommending that the Governor or such purpose, a time be appointed for the
Applicant's Signature	Month Day, Year
Applicant's Street Address	
Applicant's City, State and ZIP Code	
Applicant's Driver License Number	
Applicant's Email Address	
Applicant's Home Phone Number	
Applicant's Work Phone Number	
Applicant's Cell Phone Number	

FORM 2 INSTRUCTIONS

1.		r completing this Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon , all Code section 4852.07 requires that you distribute one (1) copy to:
		the Governor of California; the District Attorney in your county of residence where you filed your Petition for
		Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon, and; the District Attorney of each county in which you were convicted of a felony.
2.	all c	Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon must be served to the set individuals at least thirty days prior to the date set for your hearing. (Pense, § 4852.07.) You may do so by using one or both of the following forms:
	1	Affidavit of Service by Mail (Form 2A) - If you intend to have a Notary Public mail a copy of the Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon, you may do so by having the Notary Public complete and sign the Affidavit of Service by Mail. Mailing procedures are outlined in the Affidavit.
		Notice of Service in Person (Form 2B) - If you intend to hand-deliver a copy, you may do so by using this form and having each individual sign in the appropriate

space indicating that a copy of the Notice of Filing for Certificate of

Rehabilitation and Pardon was received.

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF _____

	Applicant's County of Residence
In the Matter of the Application of	
	Court use only
Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix	
Date of Birth	
Month Day, Year	
CII Number	
Criminal Case Number	
List all applicable Criminal Number	ers

NOTICE OF FILING OF PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION PARDON

Pursuant to Penal Code Sections 4852.01 and 4852.06

To the Governor of the State of California:

District Attorney, County of	f				•
		County of Resid	ence		
District Attorney, County of	•				
	-	•		rom <i>County of Residen</i>	ce
District Attorney, County of	f				_′
		ent felony in county o		• •	
District Attorney, County of					_;
	3 rd most rece	ent felony in county o	of conviction,	if applicable	
You and Each of You Will Pl	ease Take Noti			day of for Certificate of Rehabilita	
The undersigned has filed a	a petition I the	above-mentior	ned court	or courts for a (Certificate
of Rehabilitation and Pardo	n in accordance	e with the prov	rision of C	Chapter 3.5, Title	e 6, Part 3
of the penal code of the sta	ate of California	, and that said	petition	has, by said cou	ırt, been
set for a hearing on the	Day of Hearing	_ day of the		th, Year	commence
at a.m. [□ p.m., of said	day, or as soo	n as the	matter can be h	eard, in
its courtroom, department	Departr		_ at the c	ourthouse in the	e city of
	, county of		,	state of Californ	ia.
City where hearing will be held		ity where hearing will			
Applicant's Signatu	ure	_		Month, day, Year	
Applican	nt's Street Address				
Applicant/o City	v Ctata and ZID Code	_			

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE BY MAIL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

City of	, County o)T	
1,	be	eing first duly sworr	ı, deposes and says:
I am a citizen of the United Sta	tes, am over the age	of 18 years, and ar	n not a party to the
above-entitled proceedings. I a	m a resident of the Co	ounty of	
State of California.		Co	ounty of Residence
My □residence □business addr	ess is:	Street Address	
		City, State and ZIP Co	ode
On the da	uy of	, I served the a	attached Notice to
Day of the Month	Month, Year		
each person listed below:			
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Addres	ss	County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Addres	ss	County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Addres	ss	County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Addres	ss	County
By placing a copy of this Notice	in a sealed envelope	and mailing it first	class, postage
pre-paid to each person listed a	above. There is a deliv	very service by Unit	ed States mail at
each of the places so addressed	d, or there is a regular	communication by	mail between the
place of mailing and each of the	e places so addressed.		
Subscribed and sworn to before	e me this	day of	
Subscribed and sworn to before	Day of the N	Month	Month, Year
Full Name of Notary Public – TYPED of	pr PRINTED	Notary Puk	olic - Signature
In and for the City of	, County	of	, California.

NOTICE OF SERVICE IN PERSON

Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this _____ day of _____ Month, Year

Governor's Office State Capitol Legal Affairs Division

Legal Affairs Div	ision	
Full Name of Governor's staff – TYPED or PRINTED	Governor's staff - SIGNA	TURE
Governor's staff - TITLE	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	SIGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of Day of the Month	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	SIGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	SIGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	SIGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF Applicant's County of Residence In the Matter of the Application of Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix Certificate Number Date of Birth Month Day, Year CII Number Criminal Case Number

CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION

List all applicable Criminal Numbers

Pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.13				
The petition of, presently residing				
Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix				
at, heretofore filed, praying for Type Applicant's Street Address, City, State, and Zip Code				
Type Applicant's Street Address, City, State, and Zip Code				
a Certificate of Rehabilitation pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 3.5, Title 6 of Part 3 of the Penal Code				
of the State of California, came on regularly for hearing on this day Day of the Month				
Day of the Month				
of and proof having been made to the				
Month, Year				
satisfaction of the Court that notice of the time of hearing has been regularly given as required by law; and from				
satisfactory proof taken at said hearing the Court finds that all allegations of said petition are true, and that the				
required period of rehabilitation has elapsed since petitioner's date of discharge from custody due to completion				
of the term to which the petitioner was sentenced, or upon the release on parole or probation on				
, that, where appropriate, petitioner has obtained relief pursuant to				
Month, Day, Year				
Penal Code Section 1203.4, and that petitioner has demonstrated by the course of conduct his/her rehabilitation				
and fitness to exercise all the civil and political rights of citizenship (except as provided in Penal Code				
Section 485.15); and that petitioner has been, time convicted of a felony;				
Total Number of Felony Convictions				
WHEREFORE, It Is Ordered, Adjudged, and Decreed, And this court does hereby order, adjudge, and decree the petitioner has been rehabilitated and is fit to exercise all the civil and political rights of citizenship (except as provided in Penal Code Section 4852.15), and by virtue thereof, this court recommends that the Governor of the State of California grant a full pardon to said petitioner.				
Done in open court this day of Day of the Month Month, Year				
Day of the Month Month, Year				
Judge of said Superior Court – TYPED or PRINTED Judge of said Superior Court – SIGNATURE				

FORM 3 (Revised 1/02/2019)

This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.