In 2003, the Superior Court of Monterey County, in partnership with the Monterey County Revenue Division, established the Court – County Criminal Collection Program. The Revenue Division is responsible for collecting all criminal court fines, fees, and assessments imposed by the Monterey County Superior Court on criminal cases.
Once a Judicial Officer has imposed a fine, fee or assessment, the defendant is ordered to contact the Monterey County Revenue Division within 3 days to make payment arrangements. The case information and fine, fee and assessment information is then transferred electronically from the Court Case Management Computer System to the Monterey County Revenue Division Collection system.
The Monterey County Revenue Division provides the following services on court-ordered fines, fees & assessment:
The Monterey County Revenue Division is located within the Salinas Courthouse Complex:
Monterey County Government Center
Revenue Division, 1st Floor
168 W. Alisal Street
Salinas, CA 93901
If you are unable to pay your fine, fee or assessment, please contact the Revenue Division.
Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
If you fail to pay your fine as ordered or as agreed, additional penalties will be imposed:
All DUI and Wet/Reckless Vehicle Code convictions require attendance and completion of an Alcohol Program licensed by the State of California Department of Alcohol and Drugs as required by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
The County of Monterey maintains a list of alcohol and drug counseling and treatment providers on pages 9 – 16 of the SAM’s guide to Family Resources for Monterey County, which is available on the Monterey County Health Department’s website: SAM’s Guide to Monterey County Family Resources
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a device slightly larger than a cell phone that is wired to your vehicle's ignition. The device can be installed in a vehicle while you wait and after installation, it requires your breath sample before the engine will start. If the IID detects alcohol on your breath, the engine will not start. As you drive, you are periodically required to provide breath samples to ensure the continued absence of alcohol in your system.
DUI convictions may require the installation of an ignition interlock device.
A first-time DUI conviction, the Court has the discretion to order the installation of the interlock device, though the Court will give heightened consideration in cases involving a Blood Alcohol Content that is .15 or higher, where there is a refusal to take a chemical test, or where there is an accident or some other aggravating factor.
On a subsequent DUI conviction, the Court is required to order the installation of an ignition interlock device; the court has the discretion to order the device for one year, two years, or three years.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) maintains a list of approved Interlock Device providers accessible from the DMV website at: Ignition Interlock Device List.
If you have been sentenced to serve a jail sentence of 40 days or less, you may be eligible to serve your sentence in the WORK ALTERNATIVE PROGRAM (WAP), i.e. community service. WAP is an alternative to incarceration. For more information contact the Monterey County Sheriff’s Office.
If you have been sentenced to serve a jail sentence, you may be eligible to serve your sentence in the Supervised Home Confinement Program (SHC). SHC is a custodial supervision program for non-violent offenders managed by the Monterey County Probation Department; this program is an alternative to incarceration in the County Jail. Participants who apply to and are accepted into the program are monitored at their homes, schools, and jobs through a tamper-proof ankle device worn to track their location. Those who violate the rules of the program by leaving the preset transmitter coverage area are returned to jail to complete their sentences and could face additional penalties for violations of probation terms. Participants are charged a fee for this service; the fee is based upon the defendant’s income and ability to pay. For more information contact Monterey County Probation Department.
The Judge may order a defendant to attend and complete a theft offender class as part of a Pretrial Diversion Program or as a condition of sentencing. The program is an 8 hour educational awareness and prevention class for persons charged with a minor theft offense. A registration fee will be required by the program and is to be paid directly to the program.
The Judge may order a defendant to attend and complete an Assaultive Behavior class as part of a Pretrial diversion program or as a condition of sentencing. The program is an 8 hour educational awareness and prevention class for persons charged with a minor assault offense or who may show signs of aggressiveness or assaultive behavior. The class is designed to provide insight and encourage participants to make decisions and changes to avoid a repeat offense. A registration fee will be required by the program and is to be paid directly to the program.