Jury staff of the superior courts does not ask past or prospective jurors for information regarding credit card, bank account information and social security numbers. Please do not provide this type of information to anyone claiming to be associated with Jury Services. Please contact our office you receive this type of request.
What if I have received a jury summons to appear in court?
If you are not sick, you should enter your juror number and pin code below the night prior to your scheduled date to confirm the time you are required to report for jury duty. You may consider bringing a small container of hand sanitizer with you to the courthouse as an additional precautionary measure.
It is emphasized that if you are sick with respiratory symptoms, a fever or a cough, DO NOT report to jury service. Contact the jury commissioner’s office at 831 775-5400 ext. 3006 to request that your jury service be deferred to a future date.
Welcome to the Superior Court of California, County of Monterey. The right to a trial by jury is a privilege that applies to both criminal and civil cases and is recognized as the foundation of the American court system, guaranteed by both the United States and California Constitutions. Jury trials cannot be held unless people like you are willing to perform their civic duty. Jurors are essential to the administration of justice.
Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. If you are selected as a prospective juror, your availability is required until you are excused from the jury selection process. Please arrange your schedule to be available for the week you are on standby. If you are selected as a sworn juror or as an alternate juror, you must serve for the duration of the trial, and will need to arrange your schedule accordingly.
Below you can find information about jury duty, including answers to Frequently Asked Questions about postponing your jury service, time off from employment, and more.
You do not qualify for Jury Service if:
If any of these conditions apply, the appropriate box on the summons must be checked and the summons must be signed and returned within five business days of receipt.
NOTE: A request to be excused from jury service based on language, undue hardship, financial burden, work hardship, or religious reasons must be made in court and can only be granted by the trial court judge on the date of your appearance.
Pursuant to Code of Civil Procedures Section 209, any juror who fails to respond to a jury summons as directed may be found in contempt of court, punishable by a fine, incarceration or both. If you have received a summons for jury duty and did not appear as instructed a Failure to Appear status has been added to your juror record. You will receive a letter directing you to contact the Jury Commissioner’s Office to schedule a new date. Your Failure to Appear status will be vacated upon your appearance on the new date.
Child care is not available.
Business attire is suggested and shorts and tank tops are not permissible. Jurors are advised to dress in layers as the temperature of the jury assembly areas and courtrooms can be unpredictable.
Students may request to be postponed until the next school break. Status, as a student is not a valid reason to be excused.
Juror Payment Fees:
Starting with the second day of service, jurors will be paid at the rate of $15.00 per day. Jurors will be paid for transportation costs at the rate of 34 cents per mile, traveling to court, one-way only, starting with the second day of service. (CCP 215(a) and (c))
If you require special accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, please contact the Jury Commissioner's Office .